IASC’s core mission is to encourage and facilitate cooperation throughout the Arctic research community. Working to achieve this mission, this new plan is based on three scientific ‘pillars’ that provide direction for a necessary progression from knowledge production, to exchange, to action: Facilitating Arctic Research Cooperation, Promoting Engagement, and Ensuring Knowledge Exchange.

In addition, the IASC Council elected a new president and two new vice-presidents to its Executive Committee. New IASC President is Larry Hinzman (USA). New Vice-Presidents are Henry Burgess (UK) and Paula Kankaanpää (Finland). Vice-President Vladimir Pavlenko (Russia) was re-elected, and Vice-President Huigen Yang (China) continues.

More information available IASC website.